Australian Fulbright Alumni Association 

Log in

The Australian Fulbright Alumni Association (AFAA) is governed by a National Committee of elected AFAA members.  AFAA has local chapters in each Australian state and territory.  To get involved in local activities make sure to nominate your local chapter affiliation in your member profile.  Each chapter hosts a number of events each year including public lectures, dinners and informal get togethers.

Dr Rod Kennett, President

In November 2017, Dr Rod Kennett became AFAA's President. Rod is Senior Manager for STEM Content at Questacon where he leads the exhibition design teams, visitor programs and research and Indigenous engagement. With a PhD in Zoology, Rod has held teaching, research and management roles at the University of Canberra, Kakadu National Park; the North Australian Indigenous Land and Sea Management Alliance; and the Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torre Strait Islander Studies. In 2013 he was a Fulbright Scholar in Alaska studying Indigenous Conservation-based Livelihoods.

Vice President

Our vice president role is currently vacant. If you have an interest in serving on our National Committee please get in touch.

Dr Vanessa Adams, Treasurer

Dr Vanessa Adams is a conservation biologist and is a senior lecturer at University of Tasmania.  She was an American Fulbright Scholar in 2004-2005 visiting the University of Queensland. Her research applies economic concepts and social consultation to make environmental policy more effective.

Dr Caroline Smith, Secretary

Dr Caroline Smith our secretary brings some 3 years experience our new committee and a background in policy and strategy, executive leadership, and not for profit boards.  

Prof Jon Adams, General Member

Prof Jon Adams is Distinguished Professor of Public Health, Director of the Australian Research Centre in Complementary and Integrative Medicine (ARCCIM) and Deputy Head of School (Research) at the School of Public Health, UTS. Jon was recently awarded a prestigious Fulbright Senior Scholarship (Fulbright Commission, 2019-2020) and he holds a number of national and international leadership positions/appointments with leading associations such as the PHAA and APHA and he has led work commissioned by a range of Health Ministries/Dept of Health and the World Health Organization amongst others.

Dr Iain Butterworth, Past President and general member

In November 2017, Dr Iain Butterworth completed six years as AFAA President. Iain is trained in community psychology with a strong interest in the interrelationship between urban design, planning, governance and well-being. In 2003-2004 Iain was a Fulbright Visiting Scholar at the School of Public Health at the University of California at Berkeley. His mentor was Prof Leonard Duhl MD, Professor of Public Health and Urban Planning. In 2017, Iain returned to Berkeley as recipient of the Australian-American Fulbright Commission's Fulbright Alumni Initiative Grant. Iain explored opportunities for UC Berkeley to become the first North American hub for delivering the UN Global Compact -- Cities Programme, which is led internationally from RMIT University in Melbourne. Iain is an Honorary Associate Professor at RMIT's Centre for Urban Research. 

Angela Heise, General Member

Angela Heise is a leadership coach and social, emotional and cultural intelligence trainer, who works with individuals and organisations in all industries. Angela was a Fulbright scholar in 1986-87 at the University of California at Berkeley where she completed her Masters in Chinese American history with a thesis on the origins of the stereotype of the Chinese laundryman. She was subsequently awarded the Fulbright Cultural Enrichment grant to work at the New York Chinatown History Project.

Dr Peter Jarvis, General Member

Dr Peter Jarvis is a Reader at the School of Physical Sciences at the University of Tasmania. His main research interests are in algebraic structures in mathematical physics and their applications.

Dr Farrukh Mateen, General Member

Dr Farrukh Mateen is a member of a biotech startup called WearOptimo, based in Brisbane. WearOptimo aims to develop wearable biosensors for continuous measurement of physiological changes in the human body for hydration status and heart attacks. Farrukh was a Fulbright scholar from Pakistan (2006-2008) during which he completed a Masters in Mechanical Engineering from Purdue University. While at Purdue he fell in love with Microelectromechanical systems (MEMS) which is the design and fabrication of micron  and nano scale devices and structures. While at Purdue he formed the Purdue Fulbright Association for  scholars there and from 2008-2013 he was part of the Pakistan Fulbright selection committee for  Engineering.

Dr Aidan Warren, General Member

Associate Professor Aiden Warren is a Fulbright Scholar in Australia-United States Alliance Studies, sponsored by the Australian Government's Department of Foreign Affairs & Trade (DFAT). He completed his Fulbright at the Arms Control Association in Washington DC investigating the United States’ nuclear modernization plans and the impact this will have on global security. He is an Associate Professor in RMIT University's School of Global, Urban and Social Studies. Aiden’s teaching and research interests are in the areas of International Security, US national security and foreign policy, US Politics, International Relations, issues associated with Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) proliferation, non-proliferation and arms control and emerging technologies.

Connect. Support. Share. Inspire.

Australia Fulbright Alumni Association. ACT Registered No. A01934. ABN 99 730 723 674, PO Box 5037, University of TAS LPO, Sandy Bay, TAS 7005.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software