Log in

Australian Fulbright Alumni Association 

Log in

Our history

The Australian Fulbright Alumni Association (AFAA) was formed in 1989.  It grew out of plans by the Fulbright Commission to hold celebrations for Australia's 40th Fulbright Anniversary that year.  The Inaugural President of the Association was Professor Bill Walker, a two-time Fulbright winner.  It was his energy and enthusiasm that was the driving force behind the establishment of the Association.  To acknowledge Bill Walker's significant contributions to the Association and the Fulbright program, it was decided in 1992 to fund the WG Walker Memorial Fulbright Scholarship in partnership with the Fulbright Commission.  

The Association's activities today remain strongly aligned with the original vision for the Association set out in 1989.  AFAA aims to connect Fulbright alumni and current scholars through social and cultural events, provide support for Scholars to and from Australia, and to undertake fundraising to provide ongoing support for the WG Walker Memorial Fulbright Scholarship


A vibrant and diverse connected community including Fulbright alumni and broader society with a shared sense of belonging that provide each other support and an enduring sense of being a ‘Fulbrighter’; interact with one another to share ideas and knowledge; inspire others and promoting free thinking, debate and ideas; challenge the status quo for a better Australia/world.


Fulbright Alumni make significant and unique contributions to the overall vitality, creativity, equity and quality of life in Australia, the United States and around the world. Fulbright alumni have, and continue to, engage in political, economic, scientific, philosophical, moral, ethical, cultural, social and environmental research, policy, legislation, practice, culture and public discourse. The Association's goal is to harness the collective power of these contributions and connect Fulbright Alumni with the broader community to share ideas, inspire  and challenge the status quo.  

Values and Principles

The Executive Committee, State Committee Representatives and Members are committed to:

  • Creating a vibrant, connected Fulbright Alumni community;
  • Supporting the development of professional, academic and personal excellence; and
  • Sharing ideas, inspiring others, challenging the status quo.

Connect. Support. Share. Inspire.

Australia Fulbright Alumni Association. ACT Registered No. A01934. ABN 99 730 723 674, PO Box 5037, University of TAS LPO, Sandy Bay, TAS 7005.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software