Log in

Australian Fulbright Alumni Association 

Log in
  • Home
  • WG Walker Fund

The WG Walker Scholarship Fund is the proud legacy of AFAA.  This fund is held and administered by the Commission and is open for donations by any alumni.  The WG Walker Scholarship is awarded to the top Fulbright Scholar annually. 

As a sign of continued dedication to this Fund AFAA will donate 25% of all membership dues to the fund on an annual basis.

You can also donate at any time to the fund via the Commission. Just visit the donation page and make sure to select the 'W.G. Walker Memorial Alumni Scholarship Fund' from the menu so that your donation goes to this fund. 


The Australian Fulbright Alumni Association was launched during Australia’s 40th Anniversary Fulbright celebrations that were held in 1989. The Inaugural President of the Association was Professor Bill Walker, a two-time Fulbright winner. Following Prof Walker’s passing, at the 1992 Annual General Meeting it was decided that an annual Fulbright Scholarship would be offered in his name. To be known as the W G Walker Memorial Fulbright Scholarship, it was to be funded in part from annual member subscriptions and in part from the Australian-American Fulbright Commission. Inaugurated in 1993, by 1999 the Walker fund stood at $100,000.

ANU managed the Walker funds for AFAA until 2004, when they were transferred to the Commission. At around this time, AFAA also signed an MOU for the Commission to administer the Association entirely.

List of WG Walker Scholarship Winners:

Year Name Home Institution Host Institution
1993 Dr Danae Killian-O'Callaghan University of Melbourne Juniata College
1994 Ms Miranda Sissons University of Melbourne Georgetown University
1995 Dr Helena Ifeka University of Sydney Columbia University
1996 Dr Kate Taylor University of Melbourne Johns Hopkins University
1997 Ms Chloe Hooper University of Melbourne Columbia University
1998 Dr Danielle Celermajer Human Rights & Equal Opportunity Commission Columbia University
1999 Dr Nicholas Jones Monash University Cornell University
2000 Mr David Madden University of New South Wales Harvard University
2001 Dr Arlie Loughnan University of Sydney New York University
2002 Ms Anthea Roberts Australian National University New York University
2003 Dr Rodney Eastwood Griffith University Harvard University
2004 Dr Ranjana Srivastava Royal Melbourne Hospital University of Chicago
2005 Dr David Ziegler Sydney Children's Hospital Children's Hospital - Boston
2006 Ms Jackie Hartley University of New South Wales University of Arizona
2007 Dr Steven Lane Princess Alexandra Hospital Harvard University
2008 Ms Azadeh Dastyari Monash University Georgetown University
2009 Dr Shom Goel Sydney South West Area Health Service Harvard University
2010 Mr Matthew Lee Crown's Solicitor's Office - South Australia Harvard University
2010 Ms Sarah Holland-Batt University of Queensland Technology New York University
2011 Mr Gar-Wing Truong University of Western Sydney National Institute of Standards and Technology
2012 Ms Kathryn  Field Royal Melbourne Hospital Harvard University
2013 Mr Matthew  Norris Flinders University Princeton University
2014 Mr Harris  Eyre James Cook University University of California - Los Angeles
2015 Ms Kathleen Heath University of Sydney Harvard University
2016 Ms Caitlin Trethewy GDH Group Harvard University
2017 Ms Marryum Kahloon Bond University Columbia University
2018 Dr Sriram Rao University of New South Wales University of Pennsylvania
2019 Mr Graham Akhurst University of Queensland Hunter College, City University of New York

Connect. Support. Share. Inspire.

Australia Fulbright Alumni Association. ACT Registered No. A01934. ABN 99 730 723 674, PO Box 5037, University of TAS LPO, Sandy Bay, TAS 7005.

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software